The Rhenish-Westphalian Technical University of Aachen (RWTH), founded in 1870 as “Royal Rhenish-Westphalian Polytechnic School of Aachen“, is composed of 260 institutes nowadays. Around 35,000 students are enrolled in more than 75 degree programmes. In October 2007, the RWTH has achieved the coveted status as University of Excellence in an initiative of the German Federal and State Governments and will have access to 180 million euros of additional funding over the next five years.

The RWTH Aachen offers, with few exceptions, a full range of subjects. Disciplines such as biology and computer sciences have a clear technical orientation. In addition to the nine faculties, interdisciplinary forums across subject and faculty boundaries have established and proven themselves by now.

The university puts special emphasis on the internationalization of the education. Study programmes and international agreements with prestigious universities allow students of the RWTH to complete valuable training modules abroad. For post-graduate students, in particular from the Anglo-Saxon area, the RWTH offers twelve master programmes.

RWTH Aachen
Templergraben 55
52056 Aachen
Telephone: 0241 / 80 - 1

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule

Die Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH Aachen, gegründet 1870 als "Königlich Rheinisch-Westfälische Polytechnische Schule zu Aachen", setzt sich heute aus 260 Instituten zusammen. Rund 42.000 Studierende sind in über 75 Studiengängen eingeschrieben. Im Oktober 2007 erhielt die RWTH in der Initiative des Bundes und der Länder den begehrten Status einer Exzellenz-Universität und wird in den kommenden fünf Jahren auf bis zu 180 Millionen Euro zusätzlicher Fördergelder zugreifen können.

Die RWTH Aachen verfügt bis auf wenige Ausnahmen über einen vollständigen Fächerkanon. Fachgebiete wie Biologie oder Informatik haben dabei eine klare technische Orientierung. Neben den insgesamt neun Fakultäten haben sich inzwischen interdisziplinäre Foren als fach- und fakultätsübergreifende Zusammenschlüsse etabliert und nachhaltig bewährt.

Besonderes Augenmerk legt die Hochschule auf die Internationalisierung der Ausbildung. Studienprogramme und internationale Abkommen mit renommierten Universitäten erlauben den Studierenden der RWTH, wertvolle Ausbildungsbausteine im Ausland zu sammeln. Für Postgraduierte insbesondere aus dem angelsächsischen Raum bietet die RWTH zwölf Masterstudiengänge an.

RWTH Aachen
Templergraben 55
52056 Aachen
Telefon: +49 241 80-1
http://www.rwth-aachen.de/
info@rwth-aachen.de